Facebook users are annoyed with the company’s deal with Samsung and other android phones. Now it is impossible to delete Facebook app! Yes, the users can just disable the application; not delete the app permanently.
Many social media users are not happy with this move and are concerned with their data privacy. The affected devices also include Samsung Galaxy S8.
Facebook declined to talk anything further about its agreements. A Facebook spokesperson said that the deals were made to give the best phone experience to android users.
The spokesperson also revealed that when this app is disabled, it acts in the same way as when it has been deleted.
Privacy International, a UK-based registered charity revealed that Facebook was tracking users even when they deleted their account. Privacy International analyzed 34 popular Android apps with user bases somewhere around 500 million and they found that 23 apps sent information to Facebook immediately when a user opened Facebook.
The report stated, “Facebook routinely tracks users, non-users and logged-out users outside its platform through Facebook Business Tools. App developers share data with Facebook through the Facebook Software Developer Kit (SDK), a set of software development tools that help developers build apps for a specific operating system.”
As a reply to Privacy International, Facebook said data sharing is very common for many companies and it was all transparent. Nothing was secret.