Alexa Google To Delete User Data If Inactive For Two Years
logo



Google To Delete User Data If Inactive For Two Years


Cloud

Google To Delete User Data If Inactive For Two Years

Google has been riding on the policy updates and changes bandwagon during the pandemic. After a significant overhaul to its apps and cloud storage policies, Google has now announced a new update. It can delete user data from Google accounts, which comprise products like Gmail, Drive, Photos, Sheets, etc. The Inactive Account Manager can help people manage specific content and notify a trusted contact if they stop using their Google Account for a certain period (between 3-18 months). After two years, Google can delete any files on your free storage plan.

"We will notify you multiple times before we attempt to remove any content, so you have ample opportunities to take action. The simplest way to keep your account active is to periodically visit Gmail, Drive, or Photos on the web or mobile, while signed in and connected to the internet," Google wrote in a blog.

However, the policy will come into effect after June 1, 2021. Google provides a free 15GB cloud storage limit upon signing up with a Google Account. Moreover, you can upgrade to a larger storage plan with Google One. You can choose from plans starting at 100 GB of space that also include additional member features like access to Google experts, shared family plans, and more.

"Also starting June 1, any new Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drawings, Forms or Jamboard file will begin counting toward your free 15 GB of allotted storage or any additional storage provided through Google One. Existing files within these products will not count toward storage, unless they're modified on or after June 1," Google said in the statement.


Business News


Recommended News

Artificial-intelligence

Google Cloud partners with C3 AI